Wisconsin Family And Medical Leave Act

The Law

The Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Act requires that all employers with 50 or more permanent employees must allow employees of either sex up to six (6) weeks of leave in a calendar year for the birth or adoption of a child, up to two (2) weeks of leave in a calendar year for the care of a child, spouse, parent, domestic partner, as defined in § 40.02(1) or 770.01(1), or parent of a domestic partner with a serious health condition and up to two (2) weeks of leave in a calendar year for the employee's own serious health condition.

The law also states that no one may "interfere with, restrain or deny the exercise of any right" provided under the law and it also prohibits discharging or discriminating against anyone for opposing a practice prohibited under the law, for filing a charge under the law, for assisting in an investigation or other proceeding under the law or for testifying in an investigation or hearing held in relation to rights guaranteed by the law.

How to file a Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Act complaint

An employee who believes his or her employer has violated the Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Act may file a complaint with the Equal Rights Division.  There is a 30-day statute of limitations.

Complaint Form - Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave

Who must post a notice?

All Employers who have 25 or more employees must post a notice which states the employer's policies for family and medical leave and employers with 50 or more employees must also post, in one or more conspicuous places, a poster developed by the Department, which states the employees’ rights under the law. The penalty for violation (not posting) is $100 for each offense.

Poster - Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Act

DWD on Twitter DWD on Facebook DWD RSS Feed Email DWD DWD on YouTube DWD on Flickr