
Equal Rights Division

STATE OF WISCONSIN

ERD-8298 (R. 05/2014)

Labor Standards Information Series

WISCONSIN
HOURS OF WORK 

AND
OVERTIME LAW

FILING OF CLAIMS OR COMPLAINTS:

To ϐile claims or complaints, or to obtain more 
information about any of these provisions, 
contact the Department’s Equal Rights Division 
(except where otherwise noted) at either of 
these locations:

THE FEDERAL LAWS:

The Fair Labor Standards Act, which is administered 
by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, may set overtime pay 
requirements for occupations or industries exempted 
by state law.  It is the responsibility of the employer 
to determine liability under both laws.  Complaints 
may also be ϐiled with the following agency:

U.S. LABOR DEPT - WAGE AND HOUR DIV
740 REGENT STREET, SUITE 102

MADISON WI  53715
TELEPHONE (608) 441-5221

The DWD is an equal opportunity service provider.  If 
you have a disability and/or have civil rights 
questions and need this information in an alternate 
format or need it translated to another language, 
please contact us in Madison at (608) 266-6860 or in 
Milwaukee at (414) 227 4384.

The Division can waive the requirements of this 
law if presented with a joint request from labor 
and management.  If the Department grants such 
a waiver, the employer can ask employees if they 
wish to volunteer to work without rest.

Minors under age 16, are limited to 6 days of 
work a week in all employments under the Child 
Labor law, and thus are not affected by this 
statute.

RECORDS THAT EMPLOYERS MUST 
KEEP

Employers must keep the following records 
under the law for at least 3 years for each 
employee, other than salaried exempt employ-
ees:

Name and address.
Date of Birth.
Date of entering and leaving employment.
Time of beginning and ending of work each 
day.
Time of beginning and ending of meal period:

When the employee’s meal periods are 
required or when such meal periods are 
to be deducted from work time.
This requirement shall not apply when 
work is of such a nature that production 
or business activity ceases on a regularly 
scheduled basis.

Total number of hours worked per day & per 
week.
Rate of pay and wages paid each payroll 
period.
The amount of and reason for each 
deduction from the wages earned.
The employee’s production, if paid on other 
than time basis.

RECORDS OPEN TO THE EMPLOYEE:
Upon an employee’s request, the employer must 
permit him or her to inspect certain personnel 
documents.  Please refer to Wis. Stat. § 103.13 
for information that is more detailed.

EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION

819 N 6th Street
Room 723
Milwaukee WI  53203

Phone: (414) 227-4384
TTY:  (414) 227-4081

201 E Washington Ave        
PO Box 8928     
Madison WI  53708-8928 
     

Phone:  (608) 266-6860     
TTY:  (608) 264-8752     

Ofϐices are open 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday thru Friday

WISCONSIN’S PREVAILING WAGE 
RATE LAWS:

Wisconsin has three (3) separate prevailing 
wage rate laws. Each law covers a different type 
of project.  Section 103.49 covers all types of 
projects bid by the state, except highway and 
related projects; Section 103.50 covers all 
highway and related projects bid by the state; 
and Section 66.0903 covers all projects bid or 
negotiated by a local governmental unit in the 
state.  All workers who perform manual labor 
on the site of projects covered by these laws 
must receive the “prevailing wage rate” for the 
work they perform.

Each of these laws requires that all workers 
must receive at least time and one-half for all 
work performed in excess of 10 hours a day on 
Monday through Friday.  All workers must also 
receive at least time and one-half for all work 
performed on Saturday, Sunday, and six (6) 
speciϐied legal holidays (New Year's Day, 
Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving 
Day and Christmas Day).  

Workers covered by these laws must also 
receive at least time and one-half for all work 
performed in excess of 40 hours in any calendar 
week on the site of a project covered by these 
laws.

Daily overtime is not required on projects 
subject only to the federal Davis-Bacon Act.  If a 
project is subject to both the state and federal 
laws, daily overtime must be paid.  Contact the 
US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour 
Division, for information about Davis-Bacon.  
(608) 441-5221.

NUMBER OF DAYS OF WORK:
Employers may schedule the hours and days 
they wish their employees to work.  In factories 
and retail establishments, Wisconsin sets limits 
requiring employees to have one day of rest 
somewhere in each calendar week.  This is the  
“One Day of Rest in Seven” law, Wis. Stat. 
§ 103.85.  This law also exempts certain speciϐic 
types of employment from coverage.  Contact 
the Division for more information.

COMMON QUESTIONS CONCERNING 
WISCONSIN OVERTIME 

REQUIREMENTS
If an employer uses a bi-weekly pay 
period, can the employer pay its 
employees overtime pay for working in 
excess of 80 hours per pay period rather 
than for over 40 hours per week?

No.  In calculating overtime pay, the number of 
hours worked each week in the pay period must 
stand alone.  If an employee worked 35 hours 
one week and 45 hours the second week of a 
pay period, the employee would be due 5 hours 
of overtime premium pay for that pay period.

Can an employer and an employee enter 
into an agreement to waive state over-
time regulations?

An employer and an employee do not have the 
authority to reach an agreement to waive a state 
law or regulation concerning overtime pay.  
Since federal law may also require an employer 
to pay its employees overtime pay, it should be 
noted that a modiϐication or waiver of state 
overtime rules would not exempt the employer 
from any federal overtime requirement.

If an employee works overtime hours that 
were not authorized by the employer, is 
the employer required to pay the 
employee for these hours?

Yes.  Work not requested but suffered or permit-
ted is still work time.  It is the duty of manage-
ment to exercise control and see that work is 
not performed if the employer does not want it 
to be performed.  An employer cannot accept 
the beneϐits without compensating employees 
for these hours.

Can an employer use a compensatory 
time plan to reimburse employees who 
work overtime hours instead of paying 
overtime pay to these workers?

It depends.  Compensatory time is not allowed 
in the private sector.  For government employ-
ees, whether an employer chooses to pay the 

“Week” means a calendar week or a regularly 
reoccurring period of 168 hours in the form of 
seven consecutive 24-hour periods.

Adults may work an unlimited number of hours 
per day and per week, as the law sets no limits.

The employer has the legal right to set the 
schedule of hours to be worked.  The employee 
does not have the right to refuse to work unless 
otherwise negotiated in a collective bargaining 
agreement.

“Regular rate” includes all remuneration paid to 
or on behalf of the employee, such as 
commissions, non-discretionary bonus, 
premium pay, and piecework incentives.

“Regular rate of pay” is deϐined as the 
employee’s rate of pay per hour.  An employer 
may choose to pay employees on a salary, 
commission, piece rate or other basis, but for 
purposes of calculating overtime pay for an 
employee, the employee’s wages must be 
converted into an hourly rate of pay.  This can 
be accomplished by dividing the total hours an 
employee actually works in a pay period into 
the total regular wages the employee is paid in 
that pay period (regular wages would include 
hourly wages, commission, piece rate pay, 
bonuses, etc.).

Example:  The employee earns a salary of 
$360.00 per week plus commissions.  In this 
week, the employee worked 44 hours and 
earned a commission of $80.00.  Total wages 
earned in that week total $440.00.  The $440.00 
becomes straight time for the 44 hours worked.  
The 44 hours are then divided into the $440.00 
to arrive at the regular average hourly rate of 
$10.00 per hour.  The $10.00 is then divided in 
half, $5.00, to arrive at the half-time rate.  Then 
the 4 hours of over-time (44 hours minus 40 
equals 4 hours of overtime), times $5.00 equals 
an additional $20.00 in overtime wage due in 
this week.  Therefore, the total wages to be paid 
for that week equals $440.00 plus $20.00, for a 
total of $460.00.

overtime premium directly in wages or offers 
the employee compensatory time, the employer 
is obligated to pay the person time and one-half 
the regular rate of pay for the overtime hours.  If 
the employer pays the overtime premium by 
allowing the employee to use compensatory 
time the employee is entitled to use 1 ½ hours 
of compensatory time for each overtime hour 
worked.

Must an employer give its employees meal 
or rest breaks during a work shift?

Employees under 18 years of age must receive 
at least a 30-minute duty free meal period when 
working a shift greater than 6 hours in duration.  
Section DWD 274.02(2) recommends that 
employers provide similar breaks to adults, but 
does not require such breaks for adults.  If an 
employer provides breaks of less than 30 
consecutive minutes in duration, the break time 
will be counted as work time.

Employers must pay all employees for “on duty” 
meal periods.  An “on duty” meal period is one 
where the worker is not provided at least 30 
consecutive minutes free from work, or where 
the worker is not free to leave the premises of 
the employer during a meal period.

Employers also are not allowed to require that 
meals be accepted as part of the worker’s wages.

State law does not require that brief rest 
periods, or coffee breaks, be provided to 
employees.  Such matters are to be determined 
between the employer and the employee 
directly.

Rest periods or breaks of less than 30 
consecutive minutes each shift are considered 
work time and must be paid for.  Employers may 
not deduct from a worker’s wages for any time 
off less than 30 consecutive minutes.

CALCULATING OVERTIME 
COMPENSATION:

Each employer subject to Wisconsin’s overtime 
regulations must pay to each covered employee 
time and one-half the regular rate of pay for all 
hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week.
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The information in this brochure is a brief 
summary of Wisconsin's overtime regulations.  
You are urged to contact Equal Rights for more 
details as they apply to a speciϐic situation.

OVERTIME COVERAGE
Wisconsin's overtime rules apply to most 
businesses in the state, including units of state 
and local government.  They do not, however, 
necessarily apply to each individual worker.  
Covered workers must be paid time and one-
half the regular rate of pay for all hours worked 
 in excess of 40 hours per week

The law applies speciϐically to factories, 
mercantile (see deϐinition of "mercantile," 
below) or mechanical establishments, 
restaurants, hotels, motels, resorts, beauty 
parlors, retail and wholesale stores, laundries, 
express and transportation ϐirms, telegraph 
ofϐices and telephone exchanges.

“Mercantile," according to language in the 
Administrative Code (Chapter DWD 274, Wis. 
Admin. Code), means “pertaining to merchants 
or trade," and is synonymous with the word 
commercial. Commercial is viewed with regard 
to proϐit or designed for proϐit; designed for 
mass appeal, emphasizing skill and subjects 
useful in business. “Trade” means the business 
or work in which one engages regularly, an 
occupation requiring manual or mechanical 
skill; the persons engaged in an occupation, 
business, or industry, dealings between persons 
or groups; the business of buying and selling or 
bartering commodities or services; to do 
business with, to have dealings, to give one 
thing in exchange for another.

Under the Wisconsin Child Labor regulations, 
16- and 17-year-old minors must also be paid 
time and one-half the regular rate of pay for all 
hours worked in excess of 10 hours per day or 
40 hours per week.  

Administrative

The primary duty consists of the 
performance of ofϐice or non-manual work 
directly related to management policies or 
general business operations of his or her 
employer or the employer’s customers.
Customarily and regularly exercises 
discretion and independent judgment.

Regularly and directly assists a 
proprietor, or an employee employed in a 
bona ϐide executive or administrative 
capacity; or
Performs under only general supervision 
work along specialized or technical lines 
requiring special training, experience, or 
knowledge; or
Executes special assignments and tasks 
solely under only general supervision.

Does not devote more than 20% (or in the 
case of an employee of a retail or service 
establishment who does not devote as much 
as 40%) of his or her hours worked in the 
workweek to activities which are not directly 
and closely related to the performance of the 
work described above. 
Compensated by a salary or on a fee basis at 
a rate of $700 per month or more.

Professional

The primary duty consists of the 
performance of either:

Work requiring knowledge of an 
advanced type in a ϐield of science or 
learning customarily acquired by a 
prolonged course of specialized 
intellectual instruction and study, as 
distinguished from a general academic 
education and from an apprenticeship, 
and from training in the performance of 
routine mental, manual, or physical 
processes (a learned professional), or
Work that is original and creative in 
character in a recognized ϐield of artistic 
endeavor, as opposed to work which can 

be produced by a person endowed with 
general manual or intellectual ability and 
training, and the result of which depends 
primarily on the invention, imagination, 
or talent of the employee, (a creative 
professional).

Work requiring the consistent exercise of 
discretion and judgment in its performance.
Work that is intellectual and varied in 
character, as opposed to routine mental, 
manual, mechanical or physical work, and 
for which the product or the result 
accomplished cannot be standardized in 
relation to a given period of time.  
Does not devote more than 20% of his or her 
hours worked in the workweek to activities 
which are not an essential part of the work 
described above. 
Compensated by a salary or on a fee basis at 
a rate of $750 per month or more.

Outside salespersons who spend 80% of 
their time away from the employer’s place of 
business.

Certain employees of retail and service 
establishments paid by commission, if :

50% of earnings from commission, and  
time and one-half of minimum wage is 
received for all hours worked.

Certain transportation employees.  
Drivers, driver’s helpers, loaders or 
mechanics of a motor carrier or private or 
contract carrier over whom the US 
Department of Transportation takes 
jurisdiction.  Any employee of an employer 
engaged in the operation of a common 
carrier by rail and any employee of a carrier 
by air subject to the provisions of the 
Railway Labor Act as amended.

Drivers of taxicabs.

Time spent in related classroom instruction 
by indentured apprentices need not be 
counted as work time for the purpose of 
computing overtime.

Establishments Exempt From 
Overtime --- All Employees

Agriculture (farming).  See Wis. Admin. Code          
§ DWD 274.04(9).
Domestic service (in the private home of the 
employer)
Most non-proϐit organizations (contact the 
Division for speciϐic information)
Federal agencies

Persons Exempt From Overtime In 
Certain Businesses And 

Circumstances As Provided In 
DWD 274.04

Salaried Executives, Administrative 
employees, and Professionals whose 
duties meet certain requirements.

Executive

The primary duty is  management of the 
enterprise or of a customarily recognized 
department or subdivision thereof;
Customarily and regularly directs the work 
of 2 or more full-time employees; 
Has the authority to hire or ϐire other 
employee,  or whose suggestions and 
recommendations about the hiring, ϐiring, 
advancement, or promotion or any other 
change of status of other employees will be 
given particular weight;
Customarily and regularly exercises 
discretionary powers; and
Does not devote more than 20% (or in the 
case of an employee of a retail or service 
establishment who does not devote as much 
as 40%) of his or her hours of work in the 
workweek to activities which are not directly 
and closely related to the performance of the 
work described above.
Compensated by a salary at a rate of $700 
per month or more.
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Certain employees of vehicle dealerships.  
Parts persons, salespersons, service 
managers, service writers, or mechanics 
selling or servicing automobiles, trucks, farm 
implements, trailers, boats, motorcycles, 
snowmobiles, other recreational vehicles or 
aircraft, when employed by a non-
manufacturing establishment primarily 
 engaged in selling such vehicles to ultimate
 purchasers

Employees of seasonal amusement or 
recreational establishments.  Any 
employee employed by an establishment 
which is an amusement or recreational 
establishment if:

it does not operate for more than 7 
months in any calendar year; or if
during the preceding calendar year, its 
average receipts for any 6 month period 
were not more than 33.33% of its average 
receipts for the other 6 months of that 
year.  

Agricultural employees.  Employees 
employed in agriculture including farming in 
all its branches, including, among other 
things, the culti-vation & tillage of the soil, 
dairying, the production, cultivation, 
growing & harvesting of any agricultural or 
horticultural com-modities, the raising of 
livestock, bees, furbearing animals, or 
poultry, & any practices performed by a 
farmer or on a farm as an incident to or in 
conjunction with such farming operations, 
including preparation for market, delivery to 
storage or to market or to carriers for 
transportation to market.

Employees employed in any motion picture 
theater.

Partial exemption for certain hospital 
employees.  Employees of a hospital or 
other institutions primarily engaged in the 
care of the sick, the aged, the mentally ill or 
persons with developmental disabilities who 
reside on the premises may have an 
agreement between the employer and the 

employee before performance of the work 
for the purpose of overtime computation.  A 
work period of 14 consecutive days is 
accepted in lieu of the workweek of seven 
consecutive days for purposes of overtime 
computation if time and one-half the regular 
rate of pay is paid for all hours worked in 
excess of eight hours per day and 80 hours 
within the 14-day period.

Local delivery drivers with Department of 
Labor approved plans.  Employees employed 
as a driver or driver’s helper making local 
delivers, who are compensated for such 
employment based on trip rates or other 
delivery payment plan, if each plan has the 
general purpose and effect of reducing hours 
worked by such employees to, or below, the 
maximum workweek applicable to them.

Employees employed in any funeral 
establishment.

Any employee employed in the following 
forestry or lumbering operations, if the 
number of employees employed by the 
employer in the operation does not exceed 8:

Planting or tending trees, cruising,  
surveying or felling timber.
Preparing logs or other forestry products; 
or 
Transporting logs or other forestry 
products to a mill, processing plant or 
railroad or other transportation terminal.

Certain computer professionals.  Any 
employee who is a computer programmer, 
software engineer, or other similarly skilled 
worker, who, in the case of an employee who 
is compensated on an hourly basis, is 
compensated at a rate of not less than 
$27.63 an hour, and whose primary duty is 
one of the following:

The application of systems analysis 
techniques and procedures, including 
consulting with users, to determine 
hardware, software, or system functional 
speciϐications.

The design, development, documentation, 
analysis, creation, testing or modiϐication 
of computer systems or programs, includ-
ing prototypes, based on and related to 
user or system design speciϐications.
The design, documentation, testing, 
creation or modiϐication of computer 
program related to machine operating 
systems 
A combination of the duties described in 
pars. (a), (b) and (c), the performance of 
which requires the same level of skills.
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