
   

  

To: Insurance Carriers and Self Insured Employers   

From: BJ Dernbach, Division Administrator 

Subject: FY2018 WORKER’S COMPENSATION ADMINISTRATIVE ASSESSMENT 

 
Purpose: To communicate to insurance carriers and self-insured employers the new assessment 
rate and issue date information, and also to remind insurance carriers and self-insured employers 
that interest will accrue on all unpaid balances after 30 days.  The annual Worker’s Compensation 
Administrative Assessment is issued each year in October. 
 

Background:  Wisconsin Statute s.102.75 authorizes the department to assess and collect the 
administration costs for the Wisconsin Worker’s Compensation Act from worker’s compensation 
insurance carriers and self-insured employers.  Each company’s indemnity amount is determined 
by summing the amounts paid for each claim “first closed” the previous calendar year.  Indemnity 
includes payments for temporary total and partial disability, permanent total and partial disability, 
compromises, death benefits and funeral expenses, paid holidays, supplemental benefits, 
disfigurement, and vocational rehabilitation. 
 
The Worker’s Compensation Administrative Assessment rate is calculated by dividing the current 
fiscal year’s operating costs by the total indemnity payments from carriers and self-insured 
employers for claims "first closed" in the previous calendar year.  The total indemnity paid for 
2016 "first closed" claims was $239,273,092.  The Worker’s Compensation Division’s net 

operating revenue to be collected for FY 2018 is $11,537,260.  Based on the calculation 
($11,537,260 divided by $239,273,092), the general assessment rate is 4.82%. 

 
Self-insured employers pay the 4.82% general assessment rate plus an additional 1.22% to cover 
administrative costs of operating the self-insured employers program for a total of 6.04%.  The 
self-insured employer invoice also includes the $200 self-insured renewal fee for the period of 
July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018. 

 
Each company’s assessment amount is determined by multiplying its 2016 "first closed" claims 
total indemnity payments by the rate indicated.  Each company’s claim detail listing is available at 
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/insurance/assess_program.htm; click on Assessment Reports using 
WAMS Security.  You will need your DWD/WISCONSIN Logon Account ID and password. 

 
 

Action Requested: Payment of your company’s FY18 assessment invoice 

Check payable to:  DWD-Worker’s Compensation       (remit to invoice address) 

Contact:   Pati Brown at (608) 266-8764 or email:  WCASSESSMENT@dwd.wisconsin.gov 

Enclosure:   INVOICE 

Reference:   WC Division website for claim detail listing 

Department of Workforce Development 

Division of Worker’s Compensation  
P.O. Box 7901 
Madison, WI 53707-7901 
Telephone: (608) 266-1340  
Fax: (608) 267-0394 

 
 

 

Scott Walker, Governor 

Raymond Allen, Secretary 
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